North Carolina Homicide Investigators Association

Board of Directors

Message from Our President

On behalf of the North Carolina Homicide Investigators Association Board of Directors, welcome to our association’s website. The North Carolina Homicide Investigators Association was founded in 1994 and it aimed to be an information sharing organization that assisted NC law enforcement agencies with cold cases. The immediate result was homicide investigators from across the state coming together to review and offer investigative ideas and techniques to aid in closing unsolved homicides. This group of individuals provided a solid foundation on which our association has been built. We have grown to support two training conferences each year that regularly provide cold case presentations, solved case presentations, nationally recognized experts from various fields of study, and focused training topics to approximately 250 homicide investigators across North Carolina. If you are not yet a member of our association and would like to apply, please take the time to review our by-laws to determine your eligibility. The top-notch training you will receive will prove to be very beneficial and informative. Additionally, the relationships you build with other members will be of great value to you through your professional career and beyond. Again, on behalf of our association’s Board of Directors and members, thank you for your interest in our association and we look forward to seeing you at one or both of our annual training conferences.

NCHIA President

Russell Strickland

Hunter Whitt, Vice President

Special Agent
NC State Bureau of Investigation
jwhitt@ncsbi.gov

Chad Suggs, Secretary

Captain, Criminal Investigations Division
Pitt County Sheriff’s Office
chad.suggs@pittcountync.gov

Derek Moore, Treasurer

Detective Lieutenant
Carteret County Sheriff’s Office

Adam Crozier, Board Member

Homicide Detective
Greensboro Police Department
ea.crozier@greensboro-nc.gov

Justin Godwin, Board Member

Detective
Wilson Police Department
jdgodwin@wilsonnc.org

Jerry Faulk, Board Member

Detective
Raleigh Police Department
jerry.faulk@raleighnc.gov

Trish Fore, Board Member

Medical Examiner Trainer
trish.fore@dhhs.nc.gov

Sgt. Daniel Johnson, Board Member

Homicide Detective
Fayetteville Police Department
DJohnson2@ci.fay.nc.us

Nicholas Deming, Board Member

Special Agent
NC State Bureau of Investigation
ndeming@ncsbi.gov

North Carolina Homicide Investigators Association
2022